Bretherton, Wallace and Snover receive awards from the American Meteorological Society

Three UW climate scientists will receive awards from the American Meteorological Society (AMS) at their annual meeting in January.

Christopher Bretherton, former PCC director, will receive the prestigious Jules Charney award "for fundamental contributions to our understanding of atmospheric moist convection, particularly the discovery of mechanisms governing the transition from stratocumulus to shallow cumulus convection."

John (Mike) Wallace is one of only three to be elected as an honorary member. Mike Wallace was one of the original PCC board members and has remained with the program since its inception.

Amy Snover, Co-director of the UW Climate Impacts Group, will receive the Editor's award from the Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society.

Congratulations, Chris, Mike, and Amy!

Full Story